NHL Going to Sochi; Schedules, Division Names

Posted: July 19, 2013 by Lamar Lester in News
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The 2014 Winter Olympics will take place in Sochi, Russia from February 7th-23rd.

The 2014 Winter Olympics will take place in Sochi, Russia from February 7th-23rd.

The NHL and NHLPA have announced that they will participate in next year’s 2014 Sochi Olympics in Russia. The Olympic break in the NHL will run from February 9th to February 26th.

They recently released the schedule for the 2013-14 season along with the new division names for the four realigned conferences. The regular season will begin on Tuesday, October 1st and end on Sunday, April 14th. The playoffs will begin on Wednesday, April 16th.

“The decision to participate in the XXII Olympic Winter Games in Sochi was in many ways a difficult one, but one that we know will be well received by our Players and, most importantly, by the vast majority of our fans and sports fans everywhere.” – NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman

“The Players are very pleased that an agreement has been reached that will allow the world’s best hockey players to compete at the Winter Games. Having the opportunity to wear their nation’s sweater in Sochi is something the players look forward to.” – NHLPA Executive Director Don Fehr

The new Western Conference division names are; Pacific Division and Central Division. The new Eastern Conference division names are; Metropolitan Division(formerly Atlantic), and Atlantic Division(formerly Northeast). It’ll take some getting used to that none of the new Atlantic Division teams were in the old Atlantic Division.

Pacific Division
Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver

Central Division
Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis, Winnipeg

Metropolitan Division
Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, NY Islanders, NY Rangers, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Washington

Atlantic Division
Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay, Toronto

They also took the time to break down exactly how realignment will work as far as who plays who and how many times. In addition to that, they explained how the playoffs will work in regards to seeding.

More on NHL.com:

The Stanley Cup Playoffs have a new division-based format. Playoff qualification will be primarily Division-based, with the top three finishers in each Division qualifying for the first 12 spots in the Stanley Cup Playoffs (and the first three “seeds” in each Division). The two additional playoff spots in each Conference, designated as “Wild Cards,” will be awarded to the next two highest-placed finishers in each Conference, ranked on the basis of regular-season points and regardless of Division. The League will play under this new alignment and playoff system for a minimum of three seasons, through the 2015-16 NHL season.

As far as near future scheduling, training camps open, Wednesday, September 11th. The preseason will begin Friday, September 13th.

FULL NHL Regular Season Schedule



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s